A Journey Through Karnatak Classical Music

A Journey Through Karnatak Classical Music

The Melakartha Raga System

by T. S. Visweswariah (1 review, add another)
Type: Print Book
Genre: Music, Performing Arts
Language: English
Price: Rs.455.00 + shipping
Price: Rs.455.00 + shipping

Processed in 7-9 business days. Shipping Time Extra
Description of "A Journey Through Karnatak Classical Music"

This book is a posthumous publication of a labour of love by musicologist and quintessential music lover Sri T. S. Visweswariah. It covers all aspects of Karnatak classical music providing historical context, theory, intuition and details behind the ragas that make Indian classical music unique. Suitable for everyone from novice to connoisseur, this book is an easy read, and a definitive and timeless reference for all music lovers.

About the author(s)

Late Sri T. S. Visweswariah (1929-2009) wrote this book over a 10-year period in the twilight of his life. A civil engineer by training and a freedom fighter in his youth, Sri Visweswariah was a life long music lover. He was always singing and asking his children, "Which raga is that?" Sri Visweswariah was a meticulous hobbyist and often hosted musicians who visited Bangalore. He would record their concerts on a reel-to-reel tape recorder. He studied music and wrote this book in a passionate, readable, understandable and detailed manner that can only be achieved by someone who wants to share his love of the subject!

Book Details
Number of Pages: 
6 inch x 9 inch
Interior Pages: Black & White
Binding: Hard Cover (Case Binding)
Availability: In Stock (Print on Demand)
Other Books in Music, Performing Arts
On Bended Knee...
On Bended Knee...
by Jordan Maicoo
The RMIM Minibus (1992- )
The RMIM Minibus (1992- )
by Professor Surjit Singh
Reviews of "A Journey Through Karnatak Classical Music"
Write another review

Payment Options

Payment options available are Credit Card, Indian Debit Card, Indian Internet Banking, Electronic Transfer to Bank Account, Check/Demand Draft. The details are available here.